Recent Top Scottish Police Officers Awarded for Excellence

The following are the top Scottish police awardees who were awarded for their excellent work or innovative approach with the handling of tasks in their respective departments. The awards, known as the Scottish Policing Excellence Awards, was started in 2015 and hopes to continue awarding officers who do outstandingly well in their specific disciplines.

Police Officer of the Year

This award was given to Police Constable Tracey Gunn. She is from the Edinburgh Division where she established the Police Liaison Officer and Meet the Police positions which helps the local schools get to know more about Police Scotland.

Police Staff Member of the Year

John Duffy who works in the Specialist Crime Division was awarded this accolade for his excellent efforts in coming up with ground-breaking tactics in fighting Terrorism Finance.

Probationer of the Year

This award was given to PC Jordan Kerr who has taken his time to take part in the communication of the public with the Scottish Police, thanks to his broad familiarity with the law and its many procedures.

Special Constable of the Year

This was awarded to Jacqueline Ross who uses her free time to help other officers with little experience in the force.

Service Improvement Award

This award was scooped up by Lanarkshire Rural Crime Group for their work in reducing thefts around the area and also creating an environment of trust between the police and the residents of Lanarkshire.

Unsung Hero of the Year

This went to PC Greg Mizerny who was recognised by both his colleagues and members of the parliament for his exceptional policing work. He also has good working relations with his local community and has a way of knowing when things will or are going wrong.

Greatest Contribution Award

This award went to Aberdeen Community Safety Partnership Hub and Torry Community Policing whose work with the youth in Torry has led to a decrease in youth delinquency in the area.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *